ECI 831 Intoduction

Friday, September 11th, 2009

Hello all I am writing you from Raleigh, North Carolina. I moved from Swift Current, Saskatchewan to Raleigh, NC 5 years ago through a teacher recruitment program called Visiting International Faculity (VIF). I have had the opportunity to teach Science in 3 different middle schools and for two different counties. It has definitely been a very eye opening experience. To date I have had many wonderful experiences teaching in NC and have come to understand the benefits and downfalls of the US Education machine. One thing has held constant throughout all my experiences though, middle school students are exactly the same no matter where you teach. On a personal note I am currently in the middle of my immigration to become a dual citizen as the love bug stuck me while here. My wonderful fiance Sarah has been the best thing to happen to me while here as she not only motivates me but keeps me focused. There are huge implications in being a participant of the immigration system as I am not allowed to work and the length of the wait time is between 60 and 120 days. Needless to say I have had to take on other projects to stave off my boredom. If you get a chance check out my work at http://eastcoastwake.blogspot.com . My obsession outside of education is wakeskating (like skateboarding but behind a boat) and have been afforded a chance to be a part of the scene here in NC.

Leave a Reply

